For The Future And The Past

For The Future And The PastFor the Future and the Past is now out of stock, but can be downloaded – see link below.  Margaret’s first solo CD, released in 1990,  of lesser known Australian folk songs from a variety of sources: the incorrigible convict, Frank the Poet, to Henry Lawson, Dorothy Hewett, etc.  All imbued with strength and vigour.   [Lyrics]

1.   Of Trees and Humankind (Wendy Joseph) 4.04 8.   The Nameless Convict (Wendy Joseph) 3.45
2.   Sailor Home from the Sea (Hewett/Kempster) 2.53 9.   The Four Seasons and Ollie Baxter (David Small) 4.17
3.   Cyprus Brig (Traditional err. Walters/ Carthy) 6.15 10. Moreton Bay (Traditional) 3.42  Sound Sample
4.   The Secret Room (Mary Jane Field) 2.33 11. Second Class Wait Here ( Lawson/Tony Miles) 4.54
5.   Wife to a Cocky Farmer (Richard Keam) 4.52 Sound Sample 12. The Route March (Henry Lawson/Cathy O’Sullivan) 3.59
6.   Number Twenty-two (“Javey”/Margaret Walters) 3.35 13. People for Peace (Leigh Newton) 2.53
7.   On the Night Train ( Lawson/Ade Monsbourgh) 3.00 Sound Sample  

Guitar: Martin Carthy, Bob Fagan, Andrew Knight, Graham McDonald, Gill Rees
Martyn Oram
Peter Woodley
Trish McFarlane, James Fagan, Andrew Knight, Graham McDonald
Peter Bennett
Bush Band: Backblocks:
Dave Johnson, Anne Pidcock, Bob Foggin, Bob Bolton and Pat Bolton
Singers: Margaret Walters, Tony Cochrane, Robin Connaughton, Bob Fagan, Margaret Fagan,
Tom Hanson, Paul Hemphill, Adele Hugill, Graham McDonald, Len Neary, Robert Walters


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s